Are you the miracle?

“Do not pray for easy lives. Pray to be stronger men. Do not pray for tasks equal to your powers. Pray for powers equal to your tasks. Then the doing of your work shall be no miracle, but you shall be the miracle.”
— Phillips Brooks

I often pray to get through the day.  To have my tasks go easier, to get through my current project (whether that be at home or work), to have patience.  I pray to be enough to everyone – enough of a mom, enough of a wife, enough of an employee.  I don’t often pray to be more.

I just want to make people happy.  If that means that I have to work harder, or longer, or learn something in order to complete a task, I will.  I don’t want anyone to doubt my dedication to the task at hand.  Sure, I get distracted, but those incomplete projects stay with me until I finish them….like a itch you just can’t scratch – always there, just out of reach until you say “Enough already!  I’ll finish you!”.

I want to be the miracle – not my work product.  It’s already enough of a miracle that I am teaching myself things everyday; that I am following through with things and completing projects; that I have the time to do a project.  I want people to say at the end of my life that I was the one that was miraculous.

Maybe I can show that by being graceful, not just grateful.  I need to seek grace throughout the course of my day.  I need to see it in the smiles of my daughters when I pick them up…daughters I never thought I’d have.  I need to see it in the eyes of my husband when he comes home and the dishes are done (even though I have worked all day as well), supper is on the stove, and no one is fighting.  I need to see it in the projects that frustrate me.  I need to be grateful for the things I have, and see the grace in what I have been given; not see the things I don’t have and want them.

It never hurts to try to be better and to ask for the help needed to be better. 

Are you the miracle, or is the work you do the miracle?

 

2 thoughts on “Are you the miracle?

  1. Pingback: Reflections: A Day Of Miracles In Three Parts… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. Pingback: Miracle « Smokebear

Leave a Reply

