When I Retire….

Today we had a retirement party at work for a man who has been employed with our company for 42 years.  There were some very touching moments, but most of all there was laughter….lots and lots of laughter.  I have only been with the company for about 3 years, but I’ve been to several long-term employees’ retirement parties in that time.  I saw people there today I hadn’t seen at another retirement party.  This man was truly liked by a lot of people.

It got me thinking this afternoon as I walked out of the building to go home.  What will be the reaction when I retire?  Of course, that’s 30 years away, but what will my impact be on the company?  Will people show up and enjoy many good laughs, or will it be like several other retirement parties where everyone comes, nice things are said, and then people drift away?  Sure, I’d like to think that by the time I will have been with the company for 30+ years, there will be a lot of laughs and lots of true friends; but no one knows the future for sure.  All you can do is to hope for the best and enjoy every day that you are working there.

Leave a Reply

