A Woman’s Skirt Turns Into a Girl’s Dress

The skirt Autumn just had to have.

The other day, the girls and I were at the Salvation Army thrift store.  We were looking for a chair, but I thought I would take a look at the clothes to see if anything jumped out at me.  We were almost ready to leave when Autumn says, “Mom, can I have this?”  In looking at it, it was a peasant-style skirt with sequins all over the bottom.  Yep, it was the sequins that grabbed her attention.

So I picked it up – a $5.50 purchase.  We took it home that night and I snapped the picture to the left.  It was a little big for her, but I figured I could do something to make it fit.  There was only one seam all the way down the side, but the top panel was lined, so I really didn’t want to rip it all apart.  I wasn’t sure how I could take a deeper seam and still make it look good, plus she really liked how it spun out when she turned around.

Autumn said she wanted a crinkly top – like the other dress I made her.  So we talked about it and decided to smock the entire top panel.  But I wasn’t sure what to do about keeping it on her.  I didn’t figure that it would stay up on it’s own, and a strapless dress is NOT appropriate for a 6 year old.

The dress Autumn loves!

The next morning, Autumn & I had our first fabric store trip.  Boy, that girl likes sparkly things!  She wanted some really goofy notions as straps on her dress, but we finally narrowed it down to a pretty 3″ lace notion.

She wanted crinkly straps too, so that was easy enough.  In total, I probably spent less than 3 hours refashioning this skirt into a dress my daughter is very excited about, for a cost of less than $8.00.

3 thoughts on “A Woman’s Skirt Turns Into a Girl’s Dress

  1. Pingback: Refashioning: Jeans to Skirt « Deeply Unfashionable

  2. Hey, your article came up as a good related article when I was writing my own post on Refashioning Jeans to a skirt. So I linked to it from my own, hope that’s ok! Love this idea and it’s a great way to turn a skirt into dress! Nice work!

  3. Pingback: “I Like Old Clothes” | Musings

Leave a Reply

