“Little Green Dresses” by Tina Sparkles

I have taken up sewing, primarily recycling existing items – husband’s old t-shirts, things I find at Goodwill or Salvation Army.   This book is great for that.  The author has lots of ideas about how to reuse clothing.  Her patterns are not just to reuse the article of clothing, but to reuse the fabric in new ways.  Also, in her introduction, she writes about the impact of discarded clothing on the environment, and how by reducing what you buy, reusing what you buy in different ways, and recycling used clothing can benefit the world.

One thing I really liked about the book is that she covers the basics for the beginning sewer – even how to make a pattern.  On top of that, the patterns build on each other.  You may make a pattern for one item that is reused later on for something similar.  In addition, each pattern has a level – so you know immediately if you can handle it – both from a pattern making standpoint as well as a sewing standpoint.  I found that very useful.

The pictures are all very pretty, the illustrations are good, and she gives ideas on how to mix and match the various patterns.  I found that very useful, because I have a hard time matching things sometimes.

I haven’t made anything from her book yet, but the Trusty Pencil Skirt and Bell Jar Dress Coat are screaming “Make Me!!!”  My one complaint is that a lot of the skirts and dresses were shorter than I would normally wear, so I would have to lengthen most of the patterns, which I am not sure how that would change the look.

Amazon Product Page

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via the NetGallery program.  I was not required to write a positive review.  All opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

