Sisters

This post is for my baby sister.  She’s 8 years younger than me, so we weren’t all that close growing up.  We were definitely two completely different people.  Even though we weren’t especially close, we still loved each other.  She was my little sister and even if she was a little annoying at times, I would still defend her and love her.

As we grew up, I became very proud of the young woman she became.  She came out from under the shadow of her older siblings and shone as her own person.  She created relationships with our extended family that I am jealous of to this day.  She excelled at things that I didn’t.  Sure, we still fought occasionally (even after I moved away), but we still loved each other.

In the last few years, we have grown closer.  She continues to amaze me with the level of her passions, her creativity, and her common sense.  She as grown into a great wife and mother, and even if we still disagree at times, we manage to work it out.  She has started a business out of her home (Stellybee – go visit!) and is working so very hard to make it successful.  She is really showing her creative side and her willingness to take a chance.  I am so proud of her for taking the initiative and becoming an entrepreneur.

One thing we will always have in common is our love of old musicals (thank you Grandma!). I’d like to think that if we were in this movie (as Rosemary Clooney and Vera Ellen), we would perform the following song:

2 thoughts on “Sisters

  1. That’s an amazing thing to say about your baby sister. I have two sisters, closest is 7 yrs older and I am blessed tremendously when they compliment me. Especially because of our age and changing world views on issues. It’s fantastic you could say such things.

Leave a Reply

