My Thoughts on the Act of Contrition & My Faith Journey

As our church prepares to change to the new Roman Missal on November 27, one of the prayers that is changing is the Act of Contrition, or the Confiteor.

I confess to almighty God
and to you, my brothers and sisters,
that I have greatly sinned,
in my thoughts and in my words,
in what I have done and in what I have failed to do,
through my fault, through my fault,
through my most grievous fault;
therefore I ask blessed Mary ever-Virgin,
all the Angels and Saints,
and you, my brothers and sisters,
to pray for me to the Lord our God.

The above text is the new version. They have been practicing it at Religious Ed classes with the kids so they become familiar with some of the new prayers. One of the things that is changing back to pre-Vatican II is that during the mea culpa, there is the option of striking one’s breast as a gesture of sorrow. For me, even if my parish doesn’t adopt that option, I will probably take that option. To me, it is a way to internalize the prayer and to remind me that it is truly my actions that I need to watch. No one can ask forgiveness for me except me.

What does this mean for me? When we said it this morning during Mass, it struck me as being something that should be said every day. In the last few days, there were several instances where I have had to ask forgiveness for my actions. It is a humbling experience, to be sure. This prayer brings it to the forefront and reminds me that although I can and should seek forgiveness from the person I wronged, I also need to seek forgiveness from God.

I have been every type of Catholic you can be…the ardent church-goer, the lapsed Catholic, the C&E (Christmas & Easter) Catholic, the angry Catholic, the cynical Catholic, the questioning Catholic, and now I am trying to rediscover my faith. The Catholic Church is where I want to be, I just need to learn more. I have been on this journey for about a year. I am stumbling my way through, but I hope to be successful.

3 thoughts on “My Thoughts on the Act of Contrition & My Faith Journey

  1. The journey is worth the stumbling, because the destination will bring you peace of heart. Keep reading, praying, asking, confessing, and lave the rest to God.

    Peace!

    • Thanks. I am trying not to get distracted, and I keep asking questions of those I feel I can. It’s hard because I don’t remember learning a lot of things, or having the models to follow when I was younger.

  2. Pingback: When Prayer Was Taken Out of School | Tom Tancredo

Leave a Reply

