What I am Thankful For – Day 7

Today, I am thankful for my education.  I am thankful for the entire experience – not just the actual learning.  Through my education, I met some very interesting professors, fellow students, and friends.  Some of these friendships will last a lifetime, no matter how long between contacts.

My education has allowed me to have a job that I love that is close to my home.  It has taught me how to keep learning, how to analyze information, and how to use what I have learned (classroom or self-taught) for the betterment of me and my company.

My education is a treasure beyond compare.  Through my professors, I learned a love of the written word, how to wonder at a beautifully turned phrase, and how to read beyond the words on the page to the meaning within the work.

My education has taught me how to write.  Professors taught me the mechanics, taught me the tools, and taught me that it was ok to think differently than others.  They encouraged me to defend my thoughts – in writing and in speech.  They encouraged me to dig deeper and not be satisfied with a first try.

To all my teachers, I say thank you.  A special thanks goes to Dr. Les Bailey, Dr. Stephen Mead, and Mrs. Beth Hetzler.

One thought on “What I am Thankful For – Day 7

  1. What a blessing it is to be able to appreciate and give thanks for the good things and people in our lives. It’s good of you to commend your teachers too, it’s always good to hear that you have influenced someone in a positive way.

Leave a Reply

