What I am Thankful For – Day 8

This may be trite, but today I am thankful for the right to vote.  I am grateful for those who fought for a woman’s right to vote.  I am thankful for those who died to keep our country free, and allow me the opportunity to continue to vote each year.

I voted today in my local election.  I try to educate myself as much as possible on the issues, and then I cast my votes accordingly.  I have voted in almost every election – even voting absentee when living out of state with the Army.

It is a right and a privilege to be able to influence local issues and to show my support for candidates that I can trust to make the correct decision for my community.  It is the only way politicians know what the electorate really wants.

Did you vote today?

Leave a Reply

