“The Bone House”

I have to admit – the description of this book sounds fabulous:

One piece of the skin map has been found. Now the race to unravel the future of the future turns deadly.

Kit Livingstone met his great grandfather Cosimo in a rainy alley in London where he discovered the reality of alternate realities.

Now he’s on the run-and on a quest-trying to understand the impossible mission he inherited from Cosimo: to restore a map that charts the hidden dimensions of the multiverse. Survival depends on staying one step ahead of the savage Burley Men.

The key is the Skin Map-but where it leads and what it means, Kit has no idea. The pieces have been scattered throughout this universe and beyond.

Mina, from her outpost in seventeenth-century Prague, is quickly gaining both the experience and the means to succeed in the quest. Yet so are those with evil intent who, from the shadows, are manipulating great minds of history for their own malign purposes.

For me though, the reality was different.  I really struggled to get into this book.  After I started, I realized it was the second book in the series and I was able to get it cheaply at Amazon.  However, even trying to read that one was difficult.  I only made it part of the way through each book.

I like sci-fi.  I like time travel.  I think that these books were difficult for me because I didn’t have the full understanding if their universe.  Things moved quickly and it was hard for me to remember from one reading session to the other where/when everyone was.

I like Stephen Lawhead’s books.  I have read a few others that I enjoyed.  For some reason however, this one did not grab me and pull me into the story.  I will definitely try them again later.

I received this book from Booksneeze.  I was not required to write a positive review (obviously).  All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

